Picture
Our little golden neck D'uccle chick had a crooked toe, so I made her a chick shoe.

Picture
Here she is with her little chick shoe on.

I made it using a band aid, and card board.

First I took a small piece of card board and trimmed it to about the size of her foot. Then I took the band aid and trimmed off the adhesive parts. I then placed her toes on the card board, spaced them out, then with the adhesive part of the band aid placed it over her foot, keeping her toes in place.
Within a day or two, her toe should be back to normal.
I'll post an update soon!

The chick shoe worked!!  Her toe is perfectly normal!!  My camera battery is dead but as soon as its charged I'll take some pictures. :)
Picture
Healed up great!! 

9/11/2012 11:06:55 am

I like your blog, its really cute! But I've had better luck with the blogspot.com blog thing since any pictures I upload are saved there and load really fast. The weebly one is a little slower. :)

Reply
9/16/2012 08:31:19 am

I'll check it out. Thanks!

Reply
Gianna
5/22/2013 10:49:33 pm

Hi Jenae! this is LOVEMYCHICKS03 from BYC cute Blog!

Reply
Funky Feather Foot Farm
9/16/2013 02:17:31 am

Hi Gianna! Thank you very much! I'll admit though, I have been neglecting it. :(

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Bantams as Pets

     Bantams make excellent pets, can become quite tame and children will love them. There are the added bonuses of eggs for breakfast and manure for the garden. If your garden is on the small side then bantams are a good option as these birds are around 25% of the size of chickens. A run of a few square metres will suffice for a pair of birds with a wooden hut equipped with a perch for roosting at night. It is advisable to move the run every month or so to prevent the build up of parasites in the soil. In my garden the run is rotated around the garden during the winter, then kept in one position throughout the summer, as the birds are allowed to roam free for most of the day.
    Poultry feed and corn can be bought from most pet shops, this can be supplemented with stale bread and kitchen scraps, they will eat almost anything. 

    If the birds are kept in a run then some dry soil should be available for the birds to take a dust bath
    , this is to rid themselves of lice etc. This can last up to an hour and is most amusing to watch as they roll around.  The hen manages to lay on average four to five eggs a week, although being bantam eggs two would be needed to make a breakfast!

    Information above from: Schnitzel & Redcomb Productions, Portishead, UK.